TBT: Top 5 Episodes From the Original The Proud Family

The Proud Family is officially coming back on February 23, 2022. America’s most iconic family will be gracing televisions screens as The Proud Family: Louder and Prouder on Disney+. Let’s take a look back at the top five episodes from the original show.

  • Monkey Bidness (Season 2 Episode 22)

    • The queen herself, Mariah Carey, made an appearance in this episode of The Proud Family, so it obviously makes the cut. Mariah brings her monkey, Francois, into Trudy’s veterinarian office for eating too many Proud Snacks. Francois and Oscar’s monkey are accidentally switched at the vet. When Oscar realizes his monkey can now play piano, he tries to make some cash by having him play with Mariah Carey during a concert. Finally, the real Francois switches places with him before going out on stage and everything gets straightened out.

  • Hooray For Iesha (Season 2 Episode 6)

    • Penny Proud is always ready to stand up for what she believes in, but in the “Hooray For Iesha” episode, she doesn’t necessarily realize what she is fighting for. When Penny’s favorite show, Iesha, is canceled and replaced with a police reality show, Penny protests for the show to be put back on the air. She even climbs a billboard for the show to protest further. Thanks to her persistence, the show is put back on the air, but Penny realizes that everything is not what it seems when she tours the set and meets the stars who are not so happy to be back.

  • She’s Got Game (Season 1 Episode 7)

    • At Willy T. Ribbs Middle School, Penny decides she wants to play football alongside the boys. Many people are surprised and don’t support Penny’s decision. When Penny joins the team, she isn’t even put on the field. She then has to prove that she has just as much of a right to be on that field as any of the other boys. And, of course, she does because Penny Proud takes doesn’t take crap from anyone.

  • Makeover (Season 1 Episode 12)

    • Who else was completely afraid of The Gross Sisters? Even though all three sisters were super intimidating, maybe they were bullies because they had their own insecurities. In the episode, “Makeover”, Penny gives Olei a makeover at the request of her other sister, Nubia. This episode takes a look at how people are perceived in school due to their appearance can take a toll on their mental health. The episode is also a reminder that changing yourself won’t make people like you more and kindness is truly the key to everything.

  • I Had a Dream (Season 1 Episode 15)

    • Perhaps the most influential episode of The Proud Family was “I Had a Dream.”. It’s Black History Month at Willy T. Ribbs Middle School and Penny isn’t showing much enthusiasm for her school assignments. She is sent back to 1955 and her world is turned totally upside down. Penny is getting a firsthand look at the ugliness and racial division that is America during this time. Penny then gets to see the accomplishments of African American people throughout history and how those accomplishments impact her daily life.

Make sure to binge all episodes of The Proud Family before the reboot hits Disney+ on the 23rd!