New Books: Week Of September 20th, 2015

Library of Souls, by Ransom Riggs


Details: 400 pages | Expected publication: September 22nd 2015 by Quirk Books | ISBN 159474758X (ISBN13: 9781594747588)

Description: Library of Souls is the final installment in the Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children series. Time is running out for the Peculiar Children. With a dangerous madman on the loose and their beloved Miss Peregrine still in danger, Jacob Portman and Emma Bloom are forced to stage the most daring of rescue missions. They’ll travel through a war-torn landscape, meet new allies, and face greater dangers than ever. . . . Will Jacob come into his own as the hero his fellow Peculiars know him to be?

About the Author: Ransom Riggs  grew up in Florida, went to Kenyon College in Ohio, then film school at USC in LA, where he still lives. He writes books and screenplays, blogs daily for, and makes short films.

(via goodreads)

Beastly Bones, by William Ritter


Details: 304 pages | Expected publication: September 22nd 2015 by Algonquin Young Readers | ISBN 1616203544 (ISBN13: 9781616203542

Description: The second book in the Jackaby series, Beastly Bones takes place in 1892, New Fiddleham, New England, where things are never quite what they seem, especially when Abigail Rook and her eccentric employer R. F. Jackaby are called upon to investigate the supernatural. First, a vicious species of shape-shifters disguise themselves as a litter of kittens, and a day later, their owner is found murdered with a single mysterious puncture wound. Then in nearby Gad’s Valley, now home to the exiled New Fiddleham police detective Charlie Cane, dinosaur bones from a recent dig mysteriously go missing, and an unidentifiable beast starts attacking animals and people, leaving their mangled bodies behind. Charlie calls on Abigail for help, and soon Abigail and Jackaby are on the hunt for a thief, a monster, and a murderer.


(via goodreads)

The Unquiet, by Mikaela Everett


Details: 464 pages | Expected publication: September 22nd 2015 by Greenwillow Books | ASIN B00RLV2J5K

Description: For most of her life, Lirael has been training to kill—and replace—a duplicate version of herself on a parallel Earth. She is the perfect sleeper-soldier. But she’s beginning to suspect she is not a good person. The two Earths are identical in almost every way. Two copies of every city, every building, even every person. But the people from the second Earth know something their duplicates do not—two versions of the same thing cannot exist. They—and their whole planet—are slowly disappearing. Lira has been trained mercilessly since childhood to learn everything she can about her duplicate, to be a ruthless sleeper-assassin who kills that other Lirael and steps seamlessly into her life.

About the Author: Mikaela Everett is the author of The Unquiet, her debut novel, to be published by Greenwillow/HarperCollins in fall 2015. She is currently working on her next novel.

(via goodreads)

What We Saw, Aaron Hartzler


Details: 336 pages | Expected publication: September 22nd 2015 by Harper Teen | ASIN B00RLU25DW

Description: Kate Weston can piece together most of the bash at John Doone’s house: shots with Stacey Stallard, Ben Cody taking her keys and getting her home early—the feeling that maybe he’s becoming more than just the guy she’s known since they were kids. But when a picture of Stacey passed out over Deacon Mills’s shoulder appears online the next morning, Kate suspects she doesn’t have all the details. When Stacey levels charges against four of Kate’s classmates, the whole town erupts into controversy. Facts that can’t be ignored begin to surface, and every answer Kate finds leads back to the same question: Where was Ben when a terrible crime was committed? This story–inspired by real events– takes an unflinching look at silence as a form of complicity. It’s a book about the high stakes of speaking up, and the razor thin line between guilt and innocence that so often gets blurred, one hundred and forty characters at a time.

About the Author: Aaron Hartzler is the author of Rapture Practice (Little, Brown), a memoir about getting kicked out of his Christian high school two weeks before graduation. Aaron lives by the beach in Santa Monica with his two dogs, Charlie and Brahms.

(via goodreads)

The Tattooed Heart, by Michael Grant


Details: 400 pages | Expected publication: September 22nd 2015 by Katherine Tegen Books| ISBN 0062207431 (ISBN13: 9780062207432)

Description: The games continue in book 2 of the Messenger of Fear series. Mara has learned to punish the wicked as the Messenger’s apprentice. Those who act out of selfishness and greed, and others who become violent because of prejudice and hate, pay the ultimate price. But Mara is constantly reminded that Messengers are serving their own kind of punishment—for every person who is offered justice, they wear a tattoo that symbolizes the heart of the crime. As Mara delves deeper into her harsh reality, she will discover that in spite of all the terror she and Messenger inflict, caring in this world is the hardest part of all.

About the Author: Michael is the co-author or author of about 160 books, including the Animorphs series, the Gone series, the BZRK series, the Magnificent 12 series, and coming soon the Soldier Girl series.

(via goodreads)

Dreamland, Robert L. Anderson


Details: 336 pages | Expected publication: September 22nd 2015 by HarperTeen | ASIN B00RLU24YC

Description: Odea Donahue has been able to travel through people’s dreams since she was six years old. Her mother taught her the three rules of walking: Never interfere. Never be seen. Never walk the same person’s dream more than once. Dea has never questioned her mother, not about the rules, not about the clocks or the mirrors, not about moving from place to place to be one step ahead of the unseen monsters that Dea’s mother is certain are right behind them. Then a mysterious new boy, Connor, comes to town and Dea finally starts to feel normal. As Connor breaks down the walls that she’s had up for so long, he gets closer to learning her secret. For the first time she wonders if that would be so bad. But when Dea breaks the rules, the boundary between worlds begins to deteriorate. How can she know what’s real and what’s not?

About the Author: Robert L. Anderson grew up in Brooklyn and graduated college in 2004 with a degree in philosophy. Since then, he has lived in five states and twelve countries, and on three continents. Dreamland is his first novel.

(via goodreads)