the-dare

 The Dare

SYNOPSIS:
Bryn did everything with her best friend Erica. So when someone dared Erica to jump off the pier one night at Harding Beach, Bryn was right by her side. But when Bryn made it back to the surface, Erica was nowhere to be found. Bryn tries to make a fresh start by burying her memories of that awful night. But when a Twitter post from “EricaNShaw” pops up on her feed and a chilling voice mail appears on her phone, she realizes that someone isn’t ready to let go of the past…

WHY SHOULD YOU CHECK IT OUT?
We’ve all had adults in our lives say, “If your friends all jumped off a bridge, would you?” For Bryn, that thought experiment about not making stupid choices ends in tragedy. Or does it? This sounds like the perfect thriller for fans of RL Stine and Christopher Pike (in fact, there’s a Fear Street novel of the same name!)

It’s not obvious which girl is taking that long walk down the pier, but we’ll hazard a guess that it’s Bryn. The blurred image makes every detail questionable—likely a motif of the mystery.

Author Hannah Jayne’s most popular YA titles are her mystery/thrillers SEE JANE RUN and TRULY, MADLY, DEADLY. If you can’t wait for this title, go check those others out today!

EARLY REVIEWS SAY…
So tightly wound is Brynna’s spiral into degenerating paranoia… her increasing terrors are believable and tension-racked. … Brynna’s guilt-induced psychosis makes for a page-turner in the spirit of Lois Duncan’s classic I Know What You Did Last Summer; it will undoubtedly please the thriller-loving crowd. (Kirkus Reviews)

NECESSARY DETAILS
YA Mystery
Paperback & ebook, 304 pages
Published on July 1st 2014 by Sourcebooks Fire (ISBN 1402294573)
http://www.sourcebooks.com/store/dare.html


JOIN THE DISCUSSION