the-young-world

The Young World SYNOPSIS:
After a mysterious Sickness wipes out the rest of the population, the young survivors assemble into tightly run tribes. Jefferson, the reluctant leader of the Washington Square tribe, and Donna, the girl he’s secretly in love with, have carved out a precarious existence among the chaos. But when another tribe member discovers a clue that may hold the cure to the Sickness, five teens set out on a life-altering road trip to save humankind.

The tribe exchanges gunfire with enemy gangs, escapes cults and militias, braves the wilds of the subway and Central Park…and discovers truths they could never have imagined.

WHY SHOULD YOU CHECK IT OUT?
Another dystopian world is set to explode onto shelves everywhere this summer! For fans of THE CHEMICAL GARDEN TRILOGY and Y: THE LAST MAN, here’s a new take on a world where whole swathes of the population have perished and those who remain must fight for their survival. We’re sure that the romance between Jefferson and Donna will take a bit of a center stage at time–especially if they’re ever split apart–but we’re really hoping for a lot of cutthroat fun.

Upon viewing the cover, we get an immediate sense of rebellion, anarchy, and a beaten-up world. With the five teens gathered on the rooftop with their tattered flag, it could easily read as a historical novel. It also reads like a dieselpunk poster, like the ones for Sky Captain. Obviously, this one could quickly get a cinema treatment.

This is author Chris Weitz debut novel. But you might know his other work as Oscar-nominated writer and director of such films as The Twilight Saga: New Moon, About a Boy, The Golden Compass, and American Pie!

EARLY REVIEWS SAY…

KIRKUS REVIEW
The action perseveres, the sex, blood and violence dominate, and race and class clashes continue headlong into the sequel. A post-apocalyptic teen novel that’s far from just another post-apocalyptic teen novel. (Kirkus Reviews)

Screenwriter/director Weitz kicks off a post-apocalyptic trilogy with a riveting adventureHe also finds room to touch upon issues of race, class, commercialism, and sexuality in nuanced moments that are sharply juxtaposed with the near-constant dangers and seeming hopelessness of the larger picture. (Publishers Weekly)

NECESSARY DETAILS
YA Dystopia
Hardcover & ebook, 384 pages
Published on July 29th, 2014 by Little, Brown books for Young Readers (ISBN 0316226297)
http://theyoungworld.com/


JOIN THE DISCUSSION