ImageAd

BookExpo 2018: 5 books to look out for

Last month, the annual BookExpo America was held in New York. Many authors, illustrators, and even some celebrities were a part of the convention. From book signings, to interviews and panels, BookExpo was a huge celebration in the reading and writing.

With so many new books coming out within the next year, it can be hard to keep track of them all. Here, YEM takes a look at five of the most buzzed-about YA books from BookExpo. These books will be released this Fall, and readers will be sure to love them!

Wildcard by Marie Lu

Releasing: September 18th

The heavily awaited sequel to WarCross is almost here. Emika Chen returns in the action-packed finale.

What If It’s Us by Backy Albertalli and Adam Silvera

Releasing: October 9th

Fans of Love, Simon will adore this LGBT love story.

The book revolves around Ben and Arthur who are very different, and can’t decide if the universe is pushing them together—or pulling them apart.

Grenade by Alan Gratz

Releasing: October 9th

This historical fiction novel takes place in 1945, and the world is in the grip of war.

Two boys named Hideki and Ray come from different sides, but the two of them collide in the middle of battle.

Bridge of Clay by Markus Zusak

Releasing: October 9th

The story of five brothers who bring each other up in a world run by their own rules.

As the Dunbar boys love and fight and learn to reckon with the adult world, they discover the moving secret behind their father’s disappearance.

A Heart in a Body in the World by Deb Caletti

Releasing: September 18th

A girl tries to outrun her demons in this searing, universal novel about the impact of gun violence, everyday sexism, rape culture, and internalizing—and overcoming—guilt.

Bonus: 

Releasing: October 9th

The hit, Tony-award winning musical “Dear Evan Hansen” is now a YA book!

Tackling issues such as suicide, social anxiety and self-doubt, Dear Evan Hansen is a coming-of-age story that will tell readers that “You Will Be Found.”

Related