YE Must List – Week of July 19, 2015

Check out this week’s Young Entertainment Must List

1. Paper Towns

One of the most anticipated book adaptations of the year is finally here!

Paper Towns hits theaters this Friday July 21st, 2015. Don’t miss it!

Synopsis: Adapted from the bestselling novel by author John Green (“The Fault in Our Stars”), PAPER TOWNS is a coming-of-age story centering on Quentin and his enigmatic neighbor Margo, who loved mysteries so much she became one. After taking him on an all-night adventure through their hometown, Margo suddenly disappears–leaving behind cryptic clues for Quentin to decipher. The search leads Quentin and his quick-witted friends on an exhilarating adventure that is equal parts hilarious and moving. Ultimately, to track down Margo, Quentin must find a deeper understanding of true friendship–and true love.

2. Model Misfit by Holly Smale

This sequel to Holly Smale’s #1 bestselling debut novel, Geek Girl, is perfect for fans of Louise Rennison and the Princess Diaries.

Synopsis: You can make a geek a model, but you can’t make her chic. More hilarity and high fashion await in the second book in the internationally bestselling Geek Girl series! Harriet Manners is a model—but she feels even less popular and more awkward than she did when she was just a geek. So a summer modeling job in Japan sounds like the perfect vacation, even if she has to bring along her crazy grandma Bunty, and even if she might run into Nick, her gorgeous model ex-boyfriend. No one is going to ruin Harriet’s fabulous Tokyo adventure—unless she accidentally ruins it herself. . . .

Details: Published July 21st 2015 | ISBN:0062333607| Publisher:HarperTeen| Pg. Count: 416 | Buy it here!

3. Pretty Little Liars – Season 6, Episode 7: “O Brother, Where Art Thou”

Things got real interesting, real quick last week with the reveal that Charles DiLaurentis is not only alive but on his way home. The aptly titled “O’ Brother, Where Art Thou” is sure to be a must see episode. Find out if Charles makes another appearance this  Tuesday, July 21st at 8/7 central on ABC Family.

4. Damage Done by Amanda Panitch

Damage Done

 

“In her incredible debut novel, Amanda Panitch leaves you on the edge of your seat. Prepare to be stunned. Prepare to be torn apart.”

–Roxane Gay, New York Times bestselling author of Bad Feminist

Synopsis: 22 minutes separate Julia Vann’s before and after.

Before: Julia had a twin brother, a boyfriend, and a best friend.

After: She has a new identity, a new hometown, and memories of those twenty-two minutes that refuse to come into focus. At least, that’s what she tells the police.

Now that she’s Lucy Black, she’s able to begin again. She’s even getting used to the empty bedroom where her brother should be. And her fresh start has attracted the attention of one of the hottest guys in school, a boy who will do anything to protect her. But when someone much more dangerous also takes notice, Lucy’s forced to confront the dark secrets she thought were safely left behind.

One thing is clear: The damage done can never be erased. It’s only just beginning. . . .

Details:  Published July 21st 2015 | ISBN:0553507494| Publisher:Random House Books for Young Readers| Pg. Count: 336 | Buy it here!

5. Torn by Avery Hastings

From author Avery Hastings comes Torn, the heart-pounding conclusion to the Feuds Series.

Synopsis:  In an America split into the genetically superior and inferior, a fiercely ambitious ballerina and a boy from the wrong side of the tracks must stop a deadly virus that is spreading quickly.
Determined to escape from TOR-N, a corrupt Narxis research center, Davis meets another recovered patient, Mercer, whose sweet smile and quirky sense of humor give her hope in humanity again—and a way out. As they make a perilous journey seeking clues that could lead to a cure, Davis and Mercer’s friendship begins to evolve into something more… but she’s still struggling to let go of her feelings for Cole, whom she believes is dead.

Meanwhile, Cole has plans to change his identity in order to compete in the Olympiads—where Imps have now been invited to compete against Priors. He begins training with Mari, the intense and rebellious daughter of a retired fighter, but through trials and tests that are both exhausting and exhilarating, he finds himself in over his head—literally.

Will both Davis and Cole have the strength to resist temptation? Will they have the courage to face the answers they’re seeking? Will their love survive across the divide?

Details:  Published July 21st 2015 | ISBN:1250059275| Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin| Pg. Count: 272 | Buy it here!

6. Beauty and the Beast – Season 3, Episode 7: “Both Sides Now”

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fnh-_XbzkFo

Season three of the CW’s Beauty and the Beast is well under way with more and more people tuning in every week. Check it out for yourself this week when a new threat takes fiancées’ Vincent and Catherine out of the city. Tune in this Thursday, July 23rd at 8/7 c on The CW.

7. The Fosters – Season 6, Episode 7: “Faith, Hope, Love”

Callie’s birthday party last week left quite an impact. On the next episode of “The Fosters” Stef and Lena hesitate to give their blessing when Mariana’s biological grandfather tells her she must be baptized in order to be her new half-sister Isabella’s godmother. Callie’s actions at her birthday party are called out by Stef, and they make a big decision in order to avoid jeopardizing her adoption. Find out their decision this Monday, July 20th at 8/7 central on ABC Family.

8. New Order by Chris Weitz

This second book in The Young World trilogy will keep you at the edge of your seat.

Synopsis:They thought they were the only ones left. They were wrong.

After the unexpected revelation at the end of the first book, Donna and Jefferson are separated. Jefferson returns to NYC and tries to bring a cure to the Sickness back to the Washington Square tribe, while Donna finds herself in England, facing an unimaginable new world. Can the two reunite and prevent an even greater disaster than the Sickness?

Details:  Published July 21st 2015 | ISBN:0316226300| Publisher:Little, Brown Books for Young Readers| Pg. Count: 352 | Buy it here!  

9. 5 Seconds of Summer – “She’s Kinda Hot”

Summer has been in full swing for a while now but it’s never too late for a summer time anthem and here you are. 5 Seconds of Summer does it again with this anthem for the “kings and queens of the broken scene.”

10. Teen Wolf – Season 5, Episode 5: “A Novel Approach”

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m4VU1HOUpO0

The bad guys are getting scarier and scarier on Teen Wolf and it’s no wonder with a name like the Dread Doctors. This week the pack searches for more answers on these foes. Find out what they learn this  Monday, July 20th at 10/9 c on MTV.

Related

JOIN THE DISCUSSION